Below is an extract from "Tomerong's Heritage" by Margaret Blair circa 2001
A School of Arts was first suggested for Tomerong in 1876 but it took fifty years before the idea finally became a reality. During the intervening period community groups, such as the Literary & Debating Society, made use of the Church Hall [the original Church building].
The current Tomerong School of Arts Hall was constructed by James Muller and voluntary labour at a cost of approximately 300 pounds. The official opening of the building occurred on 15th October, 1926 and a concert was held to mark the occasion at which distinguished guests included Federal, State and Local Government representatives.
The supper room or kitchen was added in the late 1930s and the cloak rooms at the front of the hall were opened in 1946. The fortnightly dances were a popular form of entertainment in the early years but were eclipsed by the village’s own Concert Party which was active in the early 1950s and travelled to perform at places like Braidwood, Milton and Nerriga.
The Hall has seen service as a Doctor’s Surgery, a Military post for two years during World War II, a temporary School, a library and movie theatre, as well as the meeting rooms and entertainment hall for the community and its institutions.
In more recent times it has been used for Pre-School and Playgroup, as well as aerobics, tae kwon do, yoga and belly dancing classes and is the venue for ‘A Capella’ and Jazz nights reflecting its original purpose as a ‘School of Arts’. Now in its 87th year, it remains one of the only two halls in the Shoalhaven that is still owned and operated by the residents. Although many improvements have been made over the years, the building retains its own unique character and provides a link with Tomerong’s sawmilling heritage.